Suomi

A partir de 7,00 

In her 4th album, Mother wrote lyrics (English, French and German) on Finnish music, traditional or by Finnish composers. Her mesmerizing timbre travels with delicacy and generosity through various sound landscapes, in the image of the Finnish sensitivity: from classical to jazz, with Celtic accents. READ MORE

SKU: N/A Category:

Description

Suomi is the 4th album of Mother, recorded in Algiers like the 2 previous ones. As for Khoudh Elsabil‘s creation, it resulted from an astonishing encounter for which only life has the secret.

During Mother’s stay in Algiers, several concerts were given at the Embassy of Finland where musical and friendly ties were forged between Mother and the Ambassador of Finland, Mrs. Tuula Sinhufvud, as well as her husband, former classical singer (baritone), Leo Vesalainen. During the spring of 2017, Mother and Leo decided to work together on a musical program based on traditional Finnish melodies. Their goal was to prepare an exceptional Concert at the Auditorium of the Algerian National Radio on December 5, 2017, on the occasion of the festivities organized for the Centenary of Finland’s Independence.

The program included songs that were performed either alternately or jointly by Leo and Mother, accompanied by the musicians of the group Mother (Yves Grangaud: Clarinet & guitar, Nadia Mécheri: piano, Florent Salel: guitar) For her part, Mother wrote new texts in English, French and German on traditional Finnish music. The day after the concert, before we parted, we went to the Aminoss studio to record the integral repertoire performed by Mother, in order to keep a trace of this memorable event. This resulted in the album Suomi, which means “Finland” in Finnish.

SONGS IN THE ALBUM

  1. Die Hügel von Karelia (2:01)
  2. Je me souviens (1:55)
  3. Sommer (2:40)
  4. Far away (2:49)
  5. L’automne (2:38)
  6. Easy life (3:33)
  7. Ein schöner Walzer (2:27)
  8. The heart (2:17)
  9. Die Geigenspieler (2:27)
  10. The wild rose (2:28)
  11. L’horloge (3:16)
  12. Le rêve (2:14)
  13. Le monde (1:55)
  14. Can’t we (1:45)

CREDITS

Songs adapted from music of Finnish composers or from traditional Finnish folklore free of rights. Courtesy of: Warner / Chappell Music Finland Oy (n°2, 6, 13, 14) and Gerhman Oy (n°12).

Special thanks to Leo Vesalainen and Tuula Sinhufvud for their close collaboration and very friendly support during this project.

Recorded and mixed by Amine Hamerouch at Aminoss studio – Algiers – December 2017

Mastered by Amine Hamerouch and Florent Salel

manufactured by DVR France – n° VOC 9209

 

Additional information

Date de parution

2020

Musiciens

Florent Salel, Mother, Nadia Mécheri, Yves Grangaud

Ingénieur du Son

Amine Hamerouch – Studio Aminoss – Alger

Fabricant

DVR France

Suomi

A partir de 7,00 

Dans ce 4ème album, Mother a écrit des paroles (anglais, français et allemand) sur des musiques finlandaises, traditionnelles ou de compositeurs finlandais. On retrouve son timbre envoûtant parcourant avec délicatesse et générosité des paysages sonores variés, à l’image de la sensibilité finlandaise: du classique en allant vers le jazz, avec des détours aux accents celtiques. EN SAVOIR PLUS

Effacer
UGS : ND Catégorie :

Description

Suomi est le 4ème album de Mother, enregistré à Alger comme les 2 précédents. De même que pour la création de Khoudh Elsabil, sa création résulte d’une rencontre étonnante dont seule la vie a le secret.

Durant le séjour de Mother à Alger, plusieurs concerts ont été donnés à l’Ambassade de Finlande et des liens musicaux et amicaux se sont tissés entre Mother et Mme l’Ambassadrice de Finlande, Tuula Sinhufvud, ainsi que son mari qui pratiquait le chant classique (baryton), Léo Vesalainen. Au cours du printemps 2017, Mother et Léo ont décidé de préparer un programme musical commun basé sur des mélodies traditionnelles finlandaises. L’objectif était de préparer un Concert exceptionnel à l’Auditorium de la Radio Nationale Algérienne, le 5 décembre 2017, à l’occasion des festivités organisées pour le Centenaire de l’Indépendance de la Finlande.

Le programme comprenait des chants exécutés alternativement ou conjointement par Léo et Mother, accompagnés par les musiciens du groupe Mother (Yves Grangaud: Clarinette & guitare, Nadia Mécheri: piano, Florent Salel: guitare). Pour sa partie, Mother a écrit de nouveaux textes en anglais, en français et en allemand sur des musiques traditionnelles finlandaises. Le lendemain du concert, avant de nous séparer, nous sommes allé enregistrer l’intégralité du répertoire chanté par Mother au studio Aminoss, afin de garder une trace de cet événement mémorable. Ceci a donné l’album Suomi, mot qui signifie « Finlande » en finnois.

TITRES DE L’ALBUM

  1. Die Hügel von Karelia (2:01)
  2. Je me souviens (1:55)
  3. Sommer (2:40)
  4. Far away (2:49)
  5. L’automne (2:38)
  6. Easy life (3:33)
  7. Ein schöner Walzer (2:27)
  8. The heart (2:17)
  9. Die Geigenspieler (2:27)
  10. The wild rose (2:28)
  11. L’horloge (3:16)
  12. Le rêve (2:14)
  13. Le monde (1:55)
  14. Can’t we (1:45)

CREDITS

Chansons adaptées de musiques de compositeurs finlandais ou issues du folklore traditionnel finlandais libre de droits. Avec la permission de: Warner / Chappell Music Finland Oy (n°2, 6, 13, 14) et Gerhman Oy (n°12).

Remerciements particuliers à Léo Vesalainen et Tuula Sinhufvud pour leur étroite collaboration et leur très amical soutien durant ce projet.

Enregistré et mixé par Amine Hamerouch au studio Aminoss – Alger – décembre 2017

Mastering par Amine Hamerouch et Florent Salel

Fabriqué par DVR France – n° VOC 9209

 

Informations complémentaires

Date de parution

2020

Musiciens

Mother, Yves Grangaud, Nadia Mécheri, Florent Salel

Ingénieur du Son

Amine Hamerouch – Studio Aminoss – Alger

Fabricant

DVR France