A partir de 7,00 

In her 4th album, Mother wrote lyrics (English, French and German) on Finnish music, traditional or by Finnish composers. Her mesmerizing timbre travels with delicacy and generosity through various sound landscapes, in the image of the Finnish sensitivity: from classical to jazz, with Celtic accents. READ MORE

SKU: N/A Category:


Suomi is the 4th album of Mother, recorded in Algiers like the 2 previous ones. As for Khoudh Elsabil‘s creation, it resulted from an astonishing encounter for which only life has the secret.

During Mother’s stay in Algiers, several concerts were given at the Embassy of Finland where musical and friendly ties were forged between Mother and the Ambassador of Finland, Mrs. Tuula Sinhufvud, as well as her husband, former classical singer (baritone), Leo Vesalainen. During the spring of 2017, Mother and Leo decided to work together on a musical program based on traditional Finnish melodies. Their goal was to prepare an exceptional Concert at the Auditorium of the Algerian National Radio on December 5, 2017, on the occasion of the festivities organized for the Centenary of Finland’s Independence.

The program included songs that were performed either alternately or jointly by Leo and Mother, accompanied by the musicians of the group Mother (Yves Grangaud: Clarinet & guitar, Nadia Mécheri: piano, Florent Salel: guitar) For her part, Mother wrote new texts in English, French and German on traditional Finnish music. The day after the concert, before we parted, we went to the Aminoss studio to record the integral repertoire performed by Mother, in order to keep a trace of this memorable event. This resulted in the album Suomi, which means “Finland” in Finnish.


  1. Die Hügel von Karelia (2:01)
  2. Je me souviens (1:55)
  3. Sommer (2:40)
  4. Far away (2:49)
  5. L’automne (2:38)
  6. Easy life (3:33)
  7. Ein schöner Walzer (2:27)
  8. The heart (2:17)
  9. Die Geigenspieler (2:27)
  10. The wild rose (2:28)
  11. L’horloge (3:16)
  12. Le rêve (2:14)
  13. Le monde (1:55)
  14. Can’t we (1:45)


Songs adapted from music of Finnish composers or from traditional Finnish folklore free of rights. Courtesy of: Warner / Chappell Music Finland Oy (n°2, 6, 13, 14) and Gerhman Oy (n°12).

Special thanks to Leo Vesalainen and Tuula Sinhufvud for their close collaboration and very friendly support during this project.

Recorded and mixed by Amine Hamerouch at Aminoss studio – Algiers – December 2017

Mastered by Amine Hamerouch and Florent Salel

manufactured by DVR France – n° VOC 9209


Additional information

Release date



Florent Salel, Mother, Nadia Mécheri, Yves Grangaud

sound engineer

Amine Hamerouch – Studio Aminoss – Alger


DVR France